Austin at 2 years old
I can remember holding my then six-week-old son, Austin, in my arms and watching him smile and coo for the first time.
Man, how time flies! For the past few months, he has been preparing to get his DMV permit. He just completed his on-line driver’s education class which is required by law.
This weekend, I took him out to practice behind the wheel driving in private parking lots to get him familiar with the workings of a car. It is fun to share your experience with your child and watch them grow/learn.
Austin at 15 1/2 years
The law has changed a bit since I tested for my permit. I simply took a free driver’s education class during my sophomore year of high school. Then, took the DMV written test, drove for six months and took the behind the DMV behind the wheel test for my California driver’s license.
Nowadays, teenagers with a driver’s permit are restricted to driving with your parent, guardian, spouse or an adult over 25 years of age or older who has a valid California driver’s license. Also, during the first 12 months after you are licensed, you cannot drive between 11:00pm and 5:00am, nor can you transport passengers under 20 years of age, unless you are accompanied by a California licensed driver 25 years old or older, or a licensed certified instructor.
Do you have a child entering the driving arena? I’d love to hear your thoughts on the matter. Feel free to share with us.